0
Home Page


Members Listings

Click here to search for more exchange listings

1
Country Australia
City Canberra
Picture click to view
Home Page * available to members *
Contact email * available to members *
Available in no preference
Exchange period Both long and short term
Listing id# 5262
   
  John is a consultant research criminologist, and has been appointed to an exciting UN research project based in Vienna between November-December 2010.

Our 3-bedroom family home, which we built in 1985, is only 15 minutes from Australia's Parliament House. Set in an 80m by 40m bush block high on a west-facing escarpment, we have terrific views across the city of Queanbeyan (pop. 35,000; shopping centre 20 minutes walk, or 2 minutes drive, away) to the hills around the centre of Canberra, with the backdrop of the Brindabella Mountains. We have daily visits from kangaroos and parrots, and there are miles and miles of bushland close by, where you may see wombats, wallabies and kookaburras. The main bedroom has a walk-in wardrobe and an en-suite bathroom with a shower. The other end of the house has two medium-sized bedrooms and a bathroom with a shower and a spa-bath. There is a dining room, but you may prefer to use one of the outdoor dining areas instead, with a family size gas barbecue. We would want you to look after our two large and VERY cute long-hair Persian cats, who enjoy being fussed. Use of vehicle possible. Although there is a bus service right past the house, it is not very frequent - the suburbs of Canberra/Queanbeyan are not particularly well served at all by public transport, and you will probably appreciate the car!

We are empty-nesters, with our two grown-up children living nearby. If you need advice or assistance while staying at our house, they will help you. John has passed the 60 milestone and works as a consultant on trends in crime and justice. Karan has retired from full-time work and has immersed herself in her family tree. We both enjoy lindyhop (swing dancing) and are keen Brumbies supporters (rugby union). The cats - Omar and Shara - are brother and sister, around six years old, and VERY affectionate (especially when it is feeding time). The kangaroos spend each evening on the golf course at the bottom of the hill, and some of them choose to relax on our block during the daytime. Cockatoos, parrots and kookaburras visit regularly.


 back to home page  register your exchange listing  view non-exchange accommodation listings















Wired Seniors | Seniors Search | Age Of Reason | Home Exchange | SeniorsMatch
Seniors Helping Seniors | Seniors Discount Mall | Seniors Radio | Christian Radio
Bulletin Board | Memorial Pages | Discussion Forum | Travel Mates
Click here to send us e-mail

Copyright 2000-2004 WiredSeniors.com. All rights reserved.