0
Home Page


Members Listings

Click here to search for more exchange listings

1
Country United States  
State/Province Oregon
City Portland
Picture click to view
Home Page * available to members *
Contact email * available to members *
Available in Spring Summer Autumn 
Exchange period Both long and short term
Listing id# 5524
   
  We have a 1905 charming, modest, and newly renovated cottage in Portland, Oregon, a lively, culturally rich and environmentally forward city 1 ½ hours equidistant from both mountains and gorgeous coast. Living room, dining room open to kitchen, 2 rooms we use as offices, large loft bedroom, guest room that can double as second bedroom, exercise/play area room with children's toys and books, and shop. For an extended stay our house is ideal for a couple but it can sleep four comfortably, and would also be suitable for a couple with small child. Small, private back yard has deck, dining patio, and garden (lots of raspberries to pick late June and July). We have a dishwasher, washer/dryer, Macintosh Power Book computer and broadband cable internet. No TV, but lots of books. We are nonsmokers, don’t own pets, and ask that our exchange guests reflect these preferences. Use of car negotiable. Interior and exterior photos and specifics on request.

Our house is in a tree-lined residential neighborhood of S.E. Portland. 3-10-minute walk to supermarkets, cafes and restaurants, bank, library, movies and live theatre, shops, two bus lines, and inviting large, multi-use park with tennis courts. We are 5 minutes to downtown Portland by car, 10 minutes by bus. Portland has both world-class and cosy ethnic restaurants, great public transportation, and is a paradise for bikers. Excellent art and science museums, galleries, 30 miles of parkland and hiking trails within the city. Spectacular 5-week chamber music festival in June and July. Music, clubs, nightlife, and dance opportunities of all kinds. Amazing local produce at farmers markets throughout the city. Oregonians are friendly and will welcome you.

We are grandparents, recent U.S. Peace Corps volunteers, amateur musicians (recorder), English Country dancers, and enthusiastic cooks. I am a writer, my husband is a retired electrical engineer. We are looking for a small apartment or house centrally located (walking distance to metro) if it’s in a major city and if in a small, scenically located town also with access to public transportation but where we can walk to basic necessities. We prefer a 1-3-month exchange--(2011).

UPDATE AS OF MAY 31, 2010. For 2010, our house is now available for the entire month of September plus the first 12 days in October for rental or non-simultaneous exchange at mutually convenient time. It is not available during July and August this year. As of 2011 it will again be available as a simultaneous exchange.


 back to home page  register your exchange listing  view non-exchange accommodation listings















Wired Seniors | Seniors Search | Age Of Reason | Home Exchange | SeniorsMatch
Seniors Helping Seniors | Seniors Discount Mall | Seniors Radio | Christian Radio
Bulletin Board | Memorial Pages | Discussion Forum | Travel Mates
Click here to send us e-mail

Copyright 2000-2004 WiredSeniors.com. All rights reserved.