0
Home Page


Members Listings

Click here to search for more exchange listings

1
Country United States  
State/Province California
City Mendocino
Picture click to view
Contact email * available to members *
Available in no preference
Exchange period Long Term (more than 3 weeks) 
Listing id# 5621
   
  Hi, Our Senior Home Exchange listing number is 5621.

We are looking for a long term home exchange in your area. Ideally, we would like it to begin September 2010 and run through the school year to July 2011. We have two daughters enrolled as undergraduates at York University to begin Sept 2010. We are also looking for a school not too far from the home for our 12 year old daughter who will be with us. I am British, my husband is American and the children have British and American passports so can live, work or be educated in either country indefinitely. We are very flexible in trying to work this out and would contemplate being in two homes for half the time in each if that became necessary. If we needed to, we could also rent for part of the time too. Though we are five, one of the girls at least will be living in the dormitory and a smallish home would be perfectly adequate. The schools here are excellent and above the state average. We have loved living here for the past 25 years but want to give the girls an opportunity to taste the UK's education system. If you are not able to help, maybe you know of someone who might be interested in some sort of arrangement.

Listing: I am the local town accountant, my wife, when not engulfed by domestic demands, is an attorney and a barrister in England, where she was raised. We have three daughters 19 (away at university), 17 and 12.

Our secluded and private 5 bedroom, 2 bath home is on 5 acres in the Northern California redwoods near the wine country. It is a family home which sleeps 10-12 with orchard, decks, organic garden, new kitchen & lovely views through all windows and it adjoins Jackson State Forest (California's largest). Our town, Mendocino, is historically preserved, very pretty and much sought after by artists & people relocating. It is right on the coast, yet in the redwoods too. We are four miles from the village which has many cultural attractions, shops, art galleries, theatre and good restaurants. We have four adult and some kid bikes for the easy ride into town. There are numerous state-maintained riverside trails for walking and cycling with world-class views very close to the house. Spectacular coastline and beaches nearby provide hiking and beach combing, as well as fishing, diving, surfing, skimboarding, and kayaking. Golf (9 hole), tennis, brand new aquatic centre, bowling and health club facilities are available within a 20 minute drive. San Francisco is 3. 5 hours away. Mount Shasta 5 hours. Lake Tahoe 8 hours. We have DVD/VHS/CD, internet (2 computers), hot tub, fire-ring, BBQ, hammock and a fireplace. We have 2 vehicles, a 2007 Honda Odyssey (seats 8) and a 2002 Ford Extended Cab pickup (seats 6) which are available to exchange. We prefer non-smokers. There are 2 dogs (who can be boarded out if need be), 2 self-sufficient cats, and several egg-laying chickens. Languages spoken: English, Français, Deutsch, Español. We have done 25 home exchxanges.

For more info and photos see: http://www.homeexchange.com/show.ph p?id=14445

Thanks for considering this and we would very much appreciate your spreading the word.

Karen Green


 back to home page  register your exchange listing  view non-exchange accommodation listings















Wired Seniors | Seniors Search | Age Of Reason | Home Exchange | SeniorsMatch
Seniors Helping Seniors | Seniors Discount Mall | Seniors Radio | Christian Radio
Bulletin Board | Memorial Pages | Discussion Forum | Travel Mates
Click here to send us e-mail

Copyright 2000-2004 WiredSeniors.com. All rights reserved.